Apples And Ginger

Gluten free,dairy free, and sugar free nourishing whole foods to heal and flourish.

What I ate Wednesday, grain free/vegan summer squash bread pudding recipe and pictures of the new chickies!

Leave a comment

It has been a while since I have done a post. We have been really busy with remodeling projects on our house and I am still painting the outside of the house.( green of course!) I am about 3/4 of the way done with maybe 2-3 more days to go. Then I plan on digging up a place for a patio in the back yard, digging out the rest of the bamboo roots, and I need to paint the kids’ room so they can move back in there. My arms will be seriously buff by the end of this summer! We have both of our bedrooms emptied out because my husband was refinishing the floors and will be putting in some new windows. We have all been sleeping in the living room and our house looks like a hoarder lives here. It is not making my inner feng shui happy but I am happy to get some of these things done!

We also got some new chicken pullets! We got 3 super cute chickies! Two Dominiques and 1 Brahma mix. If anyone is thinking about getting chickens I recommend Brahmas, they are sweet and friendly and great to have around.  I will post pics of them below too along with our original chicken. We had some bad luck this summer and lost 3 out of 4 of our chickens. The dog got 2 of the babies and one of our original chickens died of natural causes. All within a few days of each other. ( I still think it has something to do with that chain letter I received a few days before that I didn’t continue which was threatening me if it was broken and said bad things would happen) Ok maybe I’m a little superstitious-but bad things DID happen!

IMG_1354

For breakfast today I had some summer squash bread pudding with some alm/coc milk that I made last night. Yum! it was actually a failed attempt at making zucchini bread using yellow squash but it made an awesome grain free/vegan bread pudding! I will post the recipe below.

IMG_1361IMG_1362

For lunch I made one of these greek hummus wraps and broccoli. I also made some fresh juice with carrots, celery, kale ,lemon, ginger, beet, and pineapple.  I have a serious addiction to hummus this summer! I have to watch it though because it is an easy way to pack on the calories (and pounds). I have been trying to eat more cooked foods the past week or two because I feel like my spleen was not happy with me and I was starting to become too damp and deficient. I think some body types just can’t flourish on a completely raw diet especially in colder climates. In Chinese medicine the spleen is responsible for transforming the food we eat to blood to nourish our body. Raw foods can hinder this process which then leaves the person’s digestive process out of balance. I started taking a lot of probiotics and more cooked foods to nurture my body and I have finally began to notice a difference in my tongue (a diagnostic method in chinese/ayurvedic medicine) in the spleen areas. It has been years since I have seen that improvement. I have been getting a ton of exercise too which is helping also.

IMG_1364

For dinner I made a kale salad with salmon, red peppers, raisins, olive oil, flax oil, and ground sesame seeds For desert I made some yummy grain free/vegan double chocolate cookies. I will post the recipe tomorrow. I made them with maca  along with a little hemp protein, sunbutter, and coconut flour.

IMG_1354

Grain free/vegan summer squash bread pudding

1 cup ground sunflower seeds

1/3 cup coconut flour

1/2 cup ground sesame seeds

1/4 cup ground cashews

2 cups shredded yellow summer squash

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup raw honey (you can omit and add more stevia if you have candida issues)

1 1/2 tablespoon ground chia seeds

1 1/2 tablespoon ground flax seeds

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 cup water

1/2 tablespoon lemon zest

2 tablespoons lemon juice

30 drops vanilla stevia

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

* Mix the chia/flax/warm water together and let sit for a minute or two.

* Mix all of the ingredients together and pour into a greased bread loaf pan.

* Cook at 350F for about 1 hour or until medium brown and firm. These will rise and then deflate as they cook.

* Serve warm with some dairy free milk and raisins or chopped nuts on top. Makes about 8 servings.

chickies

chicky

ming

Leave a Reply

