Apples And Ginger

Gluten free,dairy free, and sugar free nourishing whole foods to heal and flourish.

Smoothie Tuesday! Spiced pear/beet/rhubarb smoothie

Leave a comment

pear smoothie (74)

Well I am still on this raw diet and may stay on it forever! It would probably be tough in the winter though because I really like soups. I will have to experiment with some raw soups to keep me warm! Just because it’s raw doesn’t mean we have to eat it cold! I have discovered a great way to help prevent bloating and sluggish digestion from drinking too many smoothies. I have been swallowing (or chew it but your breath will be hideous!) about 1/2 clove of fresh garlic with my smoothie the past few days and it has helped my digestion/bloating so much! I really recommend it! I have also been trying out the 80/10/10 rule of eating which is 80% of your diet is carbs 10% percent is  fat and 10% is protein. This is so much different than what I have beet eating for the past 15 years or so. I am usually eating quite a bit of fat without even realizing it! Like olive oil on everything and coconut oil in deserts and for cooking with. It really adds up! Eating less fat has given me so much more energy and better digestion. If you think about it make sense that your body wouldn’t require so much fat if you were in the woods and surviving off of what you could forage. In the summer you would mainly be eating plants/fruits some nuts and seeds and occasionally insects or small animals. And in the winter you would be eating less green plants and more root vegetables, nuts and fatty fish etc.

Spiced pear/beet/rhubarb smoothie:

5 pears
2 stalks rhubarb
1/2 small beet
1/2 orange
2-3′ chunk ginger
large pinch cinnamon
large pinch turmeric

*add enough water to make it so you can blend it (about 1/3 to 1/2 blender full)

*add a handful of greens for a green smoothie!

Leave a Reply

