Apples And Ginger

Gluten free,dairy free, and sugar free nourishing whole foods to heal and flourish.

What I ate Wednesday and detox update after 1 week raw

Leave a comment

chiahemp (70)

I have been on almost all (90-95%) raw for the past week and all I can say is WOW! I feel amazing!  I really feel more connected to the natural environment/universe. As cheesy as that sounds it really is true. It’s like I’m living on a new level. I feel way more relaxed and happy than I normally do and I don’t get as irritated when my kids are being naughty (most of the day). Although I have started getting some detox symptoms last night. I had a really bad headache/nausea that started last night and then I woke up with one (this has never happened). The rare migraine headache I usually get is always gone by morning. Then I took a little turmeric powder mixed with honey and about 30 minutes later it was gone! Normally when I have a migraine they NEVER go away that quickly! It’s always a long drawn out process that usually requires Tylenol and a nap. I’m going to have to try the turmeric remedy next time I have a non detox headache to see if it will take it away that easily.

For breakfast I had a bowl of chia breakfast pudding and for lunch I had this  protein smoothie that I had yesterday with a kiwi fruit added to it. I intended on having the smoothie for a snack but it ended up keeping me full until dinner. Also when I say I had a smoothie it means I had about 2 or 3 large cups of that smoothie! One of these day I will learn portion control!

dinnerhemp (69)

For dinner I made the same greek salad I have been making almost every day for the past week or so except with cranberries instead of raisins and hemp seeds on top. I think I am about greeked out! Maybe its time to move onto some new salads! For desert I made a cherry chocolate banana split.  I LOVE making ice cream using mostly just bananas! It is really hard to find an ice cream dish that isn’t loaded in some kind of fat! And you know how I feel about sugar and fat combined! (gall bladder enemies!) I used carob on top instead of chocolate tonight because it’s late and my kids need to actually sleep tonight.

bananasplit(68)

Cherry chocolate banana split (vegan)

3 frozen bananas

10 drops stevia(optional)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

handful of de-seeded cherries

handful of raw cacoa nibs or chocolate chips (crushed)

Carob sauce:

2 tablespoons of raw carob powder

2 tablespoons fresh orange juice

1/2 tablespoon nut milk

1/2 tablespoon sun butter or almond butter

5 drops of stevia (or 1/2 tablespoon raw honey/maple)

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon spirulina powder

pinch of cinnamon

pinch of sea salt

* Blend/process all the ingredients in the blender-you can add 1-2 tablespoons of nut milk to help it process easier but if you overdo it your ice cream will turn into a smoothie!

* Top with sliced cherries, chopped pecans/walnuts, cacao nibs or chocolate chips(crushed) Makes 2 servings.

Leave a Reply

