Apples And Ginger

Gluten free,dairy free, and sugar free nourishing whole foods to heal and flourish.

Hearty gluten free pancakes (vegan)

Leave a comment

IMG_0657

I have a hard time finding gluten free flour blends that I really like. They either don’t digest well or they don’t taste right.  My body doesn’t do well with too many baked goods even gluten free. I put together this flour blend so it has a good balance of proteins, complex carbs, and heating vs. cooling ingredients. With my body type I can’t eat alot of heating foods( red meats,some grains,chocolate etc.) I use the mung bean paste in alot of the foods I make to keep the food neutral or cooling . To find out your body type(dosha) go to this link to take the quiz: http://www.doctoroz.com/ayurvedic-body-type-find-your-dosha

Here is the recipe for the pancakes:

1/2 cup brown rice flour

1/4 cup sunflower seed flour(grind in coffee grinder or processor)

2 tbs. coconut flour

2 tbs mung or lentil paste ( I used mixture of both)

1 Tbs. tapioca flour

1 1/2 Tbs. ground flaxseeds

2 tsp. vinegar

2 tsp. lemon juice

1/4 tsp sea salt

5 drops vanilla stevia

2 tbs honey

1/4 cup coconut milk

1 tbs grapeseed oil

1/2 cup of water (or to desired pancake thickness)

I use coconut oil for cooking these. Cook on medium heat and because there are no eggs they take longer to cook. This makes about 8 small or 4 large pancakes.

This and other recipes can also be seen at http://dietdessertndogs.com/2013/04/04/wellness-weekend-april-4-8-2013

Leave a Reply

